Skip to content

Brewsday Tuesday: Sierra Nevada Ruthless Rye IPA

February 7, 2012

Name: Sierra Nevada Ruthless Rye IPA

Brewed by:  Sierra Nevada Brewing Co.

Style/ABV: American IPA / 6.6%

Appearance: Pours a warm copper color with a nice one finger cream colored head. Head retention is good and there is a nice amount of lacing as the beer disappears from my glass.

Smell: Sweet malts, some spiciness from the rye and a nice amout of citrus from the hops.

Taste: Opens up with some nice malt flavors, moves into some spice and finishes with a good punch of grapefruit.  The rye tones are present throughout. Gosh this is tasty!

Mouthfeel: Medium bodied with moderate carbonation.

Overall: Another winner from Sierra Nevada! I really love the way the spiciness of the rye interacted with the malt sweetness and grapefruit flavors from the hops.  This was a very interesting beer, and I was sad I only picked up one from Market Square Liquors.

Final Grade: A

3 Comments leave one →
  1. J.Carney permalink
    March 28, 2012 12:01 pm

    Glad to see another fan of Ruthless Rye! And Sierra Nevada, for that matter! (Just don’t tell my fellow co-author I wrote this as he is definitely NOT a fan of SN!)

    • March 28, 2012 12:51 pm

      Thanks for the comment, and your secret is safe with me! I usually enjoy SN’s offerings. Why doesn’t your co-author like them?

      • J.Carney permalink
        March 30, 2012 9:05 am

        I asked him the same thing and his direct quote was, “everybody drinks it now.” I responded with, “If you followed your favorite sports team through ‘the rough years’ and suddenly they won their league’s championship gaining all new followers and band-wagon fans, would you quit following your team?” He just shrugged his shoulders. I took another sip of my Sierra Nevada Pale Ale and enjoyed just as much as I had before our conversation! 🙂

Leave a Reply

