Skip to content

Depos, Chopped Pork, and My Boy

February 9, 2012

I was in Doraville, Georgia yesterday for a deposition.  Due to timing I could not stop and get lunch beforehand, and by the end of the deposition I had a pounding food headache.  I wanted to avoid grabbing fast food, but with gridlock awaiting me on I-285 I grabbed a miserable chicken sandwich from Wendy’s. While forgettable it did serve its purpose of combating my hunger, and I was able to navigate my way out of Atlanta without my stomach consuming itself.

An hour or so later I arrived in Macon, Georgia home to JL’s Bar-B-Q.*  It was recommended by Erick Erickson of Red State and CNN fame.  I wanted a pulled pork sandwich and after getting the paper bag tore through it in my car.  It was so, so, so good.  My favorite part was the inclusion of nice pieces of the outside of the butt.  They were crunchy and full of flavor.

With dinner in my belly I pressed on to Monticello.  It took me another 2+ hours and I did not walk in the door until after 10 p.m.  I thought Mason would be asleep, but he waited for me to come home.  He ran to me in the kitchen and gave me a big hug.  I held him in the living room and we watched TV until he drifted off to sleep.

*A full review of JL’s will be posted on Sweet Tea & Bourbon shortly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

