Skip to content

Christy Jordan’s Chicken and Dumpling Recipe

February 12, 2012

After a run of warm weather winter has arrived in North Florida.  It has been downright freezing at night, and barely scraped into the 50s during the day.  In short, it has been perfect weather for chicken and dumplings.  Becky found a recipe she wanted to try in Christy Jordan’s cookbook, Southern Plate. Instead of making the dumplings from scratch it called for a can of biscuits.  I was skeptical.  However, I decided to keep my thoughts to myself and see how it turned out.  In a word, this recipe is tasty.  Very tasty. Using the canned biscuits cut down on the amount of time it took, and also kept our kitchen from turning into a flour pit! I am very happy we gave this recipe a try, and think it has earned a spot in our cool weather recipe rotation.

The ingredients: 3 (bone in, skin on) chicken breast, 10.5 oz can of cream of chicken soup, small can of Pillsbury Grands biscuits, 32.5 oz of chicken stock, flour, salt and pepper.

Cover the chicken breast with water and boil in a large pot until cooked through (somewhere between 45 mins and an hour depending on the size of the chicken breast).

Remove chicken from pot, remove the skin and shred the meat into small pieces.

I could bring myself to throw out the stock I made from the chicken breast, so I separated the fat and put it all back in the pot.  This is a deviation from Christy’s recipe, but as they say, waste not, want not!*

Add the box of stock and can of cream of chicken soup to the pot.

Place about a cup of flour in a bowl.  Pop open the biscuits and separate each on into three individual layers.  Dredge each layer in the flour.

Break each biscuit layer into three smaller pieces…

…and drop them into the pot.  Repeat with all of the remaining biscuit layers.

After 10 minutes or so the dumplings will start to puff up and rise to surface. Nudge them down with a spoon and cook until no longer doughy, about 5 minutes or so. Add the chicken and gently mix together.

Spoon into a bowl and enjoy!

*The extra stock I made and added to the pot allowed us to stretch out this recipe, and we ate off it for three days!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 8:46 am

    Yummie. Might try this in the next few days.

  2. February 16, 2012 9:41 am

    I may need to try this; my Mema’s recipe was the bets but I think it’s either long lost or being hoarded by my evil aunt.

  3. February 16, 2012 9:41 am

    er, the BEST. Wow, typos.

    • February 16, 2012 10:39 am

      Ha! I am the worst at typos. I have tried a few recipes, one where you make the dumplings from scratch and cut them into long strips. I liked that one a lot, but this is good too. Evil aunts suck by the way. #FreeMemasRecipeNow

  4. Kelly Sikes permalink
    February 16, 2012 12:49 pm

    You should try my Mom’s recipe, too. It is delish! Of course I’ve never tried to make it, I just eat it.

    • February 16, 2012 2:55 pm

      Get me a copy and I would love to try it! I figured out how to make your momma’s cole slaw by the way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

