Skip to content

Always Bring Quarters

February 20, 2012

Here is a simple rule, always keeps at least $2.00 (or more) in quarters in your car.  One day you will thank me. This piece of advice stems from a recent adventure I had on the Florida Turnpike.  I pulled off when my Orlando appointment cancelled and was met by a toll booth with two choices.  One was exact change and the other was for Sun Pass, the electronic scanner that deducts the toll from your bank account.  I had a $1.00 in quarters and sailed through the exact change lane.

I chatted with opposing counsel, my office and decided to head back towards Tallahassee.  I went to get back on the turnpike and was met with the same two choices.  This time I was out of coins. I wasn’t worried because the first time through I noticed a toll mail-in evelope.  Of course, this one was out of the envelopes.  I did not want to get a ticket mailed to my house so I backed down the ramp.

I had no idea how to get back north without taking the turnpike.  Thankfully, I had a fully charged phone with GPS.  I navigated through some backroads and eventually hit I-75.  The next time I have an opportunity to pick up a Sun Pass I will buy one, so I can avoid running out of change!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2012 7:36 am

    You can buy a SunPass at AAA and save leave the change at home! I think the stick-on one is only $5 and you can set it up to auto-load. It works on most toll roads in Florida which is especially helpful if you do much driving in Orlando.

    • February 27, 2012 1:37 pm

      Very cool. I think I may get that once since I won’t be taking it out of the car. Appreciate the info!

  2. Soapboxdiva permalink
    February 27, 2012 12:41 pm

    You don’t have to have it tied to your checking account, but can ‘load’ it from a credit card or whatever you deem safest. It is a lovely thing to have while traveling, just not slowing down on some tolls is nice!

Leave a Reply

