Skip to content

Brewsday Tuesday: Boddingtons Pub Ale

February 28, 2012

My Uncle Ian is from Manchester, England.  When I lived in New Hampshire I remember going to his house during the holidays and having a pint of Boddingtons from his kegerator.  It was his favorite, and I’ve always had good memories associated with this beer. When I saw it sitting on the cooler’s shelf I decided to visit a.beer from my past.

Name: Boddingtons Pub Ale

Brewed by: Boddingtons

Style/ABV: English Pale Ale / 4.7%

Appearance: Pours with a cascade of nitrogen bubbles that clears to a medium gold color with a creamy white head.  The head remains on the beer as it is consumed. There is not much lacing.

Smell: Very restrained and almost odorless.  I did detect a mild sweetness and some weak bread notes. Meh.

Taste: Not much going on here. Opens with some sweetness and ends with a weak hop finish.

Mouthfeel: Very creamy (from the nitrogen widget) paired with a watery thinness.

Overall: People say you can’t go home again, and when it comes to this beer they are right. I remember this beer being much better, but maybe my taste have changed.   Overall, it is a forgettable beer that failed to leave behind anything memorable except regret.  I cannot believe I spent $8.99 for a four pack!

Final Grade: D+

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

