Skip to content

Polishing Another Rough Edge

March 2, 2012

A couple days a week Becky forwards me the daily e-mail she receives from Pastor Mark of Epiphany Lutheran Church.  Each day the pastor writes a short message based upon a biblical quote.  Recently the message began with a verse from the Gospel of Matthew:

Hear and understand: Not what goes into the mouth defiles a man; but what comes out of the mouth, this defiles a man.” – Matthew 10: 15-16

Pastor Mark went on to discuss how tongues are not to be trusted.  One moment they are gracious and kind, and the next they are vicious and hurtful.  He urged people to speak with their heart guided by God. This e-mail message hit home.  Speaking with a Godly tongue is one area (of many) in my life in need of some polishing.  It is especially evident when I am angry.

So, in light of the message of Pastor Mark, and in the spirt of the Lenten season, I am going to try to give up speaking with an ugly tone using unkind words.  I will let you know how the effort unfolds after Easter.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2012 1:39 pm

    I try to do this as well. Lately, Elliot has started saying “I hate (so-and-so)” and we’re working hard to get him not to talk this way. Thanks for this post; it kind of reminded me that I too must be better if I expect him to be.

    • March 8, 2012 9:16 am

      It is a constant battle for me! I can’t expect Mason to speak well if I set a bad example. It’s a big responsibility. 🙂

      • March 8, 2012 9:42 am

        Definitely! One the biggest is setting good examples and I never even thought about that part of parenting until recently.

Leave a Reply

