Skip to content

“E” is for Enough

March 4, 2012

The fuel gauge was sitting on “E” and the warning light blinked on the dashboard.  Becky wanted me to sit at a gas station and wait for the power to come on.  There was no way of knowing how long the power would be out, and I was not about to spend the afternoon waiting for the blackout to lift.  Instead, I pointed the car towards home and slowly pressed on the gas.

I admit I have a horrible habit of refusing to fill my gas tank until it is almost on empty. To date this has not resulted in any severe consequences.  This morning I saw it was low on the way to church, but I forgot my wallet at the house.  By the time we turned around and picked it up, it was too late to stop at the Shell station.  Plan B was to fill up before the movie in Thomasville.  That idea was spoiled when we got out of church late and had to go straight to the theater.

While we watched The Loraxthe possibility of a city-wide black out did not cross my mind.  Color me surprised when the movie unexpectedly stopped and the emergency lights kicked on.  With all the gas stations out of commission I soon found myself on U.S. 19 South hoping we had enough gas to make the 22 mile trip back to Monticello.  Becky chirped in my ear about how I was irresponsible and should never let my gas tank get below a quarter.  Mason whined in the back seat about wanting more air after the a/c was cut.  Julia cried as she tossed her pink giraffe onto the ground.  I did some quick math and figured we had this one in the bag, and the chances of me walking for gas were close to nill.

As the miles ticked by my confidence grew.  Crossing into Florida I turned the radio and the a/c on.  As we coasted down the last hill into town we were soon the Pure station.  I filled the tank and shot out a victory tweet to let my tens of followers know my manstincts had been correct! In fact, we could have made it all the way to Perry.  Becky was not impressed when I told her this fact, and she instructed me to never do that again.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy J permalink
    March 6, 2012 1:56 am

    Story on the news the other night said running the AC did not use more gas and if you rolled down the windows, the extra drag that created could cause you to burn more. Give that boy some air, LOL. I too have learned just how far I can go with the light on. So far so good.

    • March 6, 2012 10:55 am

      I have read that in the past, but 7 years of marriage have taught me which battles to pick! 🙂

  2. March 6, 2012 1:38 pm

    I would have been mad at my husband if he did this too.

    • March 8, 2012 9:15 am

      Mad? You should be impressed with his manstincts!

      • March 8, 2012 9:42 am

        Actually, yes I would be very impressed, considering he’s been in Tallahassee since 1998 and sometimes he STILL gets lost!

  3. whileeveryoneelseissleeping permalink
    March 7, 2012 12:51 pm

    You sound just like my husband. Thanks for the laugh!

Leave a Reply

