Skip to content

Brewsday Tuesday: Monte Carlo

March 6, 2012

Monte Carlo is from Guatemala, was on clearance, and shipped in a skunk-inducing green bottle.  What could go wrong?

Name: Monte Carlo

Brewed by: Cervecceria Centro Americana, S.A. – Guatemala

Style/ABV: American Adjunct Lager / 5.2%

Appearance: Pours with a pale fizzy yellow with a one finger white head that disappears quickly.

Smell: Burnt tires/asphalt up front with some grasses and a very mild corn sweetness in the background. Very unappealing.

Taste: Opens up with a punch of skunkiness which slowly mellows out into adjunct corn sweetness and finishes with some bitterness that lingers.  Reminds me of drinking a Heineken only worse.

Mouthfeel: Light and thin.

Overall: Found this at the local Winn Dixie. As soon as I picked up the six pack my brain screamed “put it back!” I should have listened, but instead I decided to sacrifice my taste buds for America.  It was horrible. I had one in a bottle, and then one in a pint glass.  The one I had to smell made for a far worse drinking experience.  Avoid this beer.

Final Grade: F

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

