Skip to content

Cutie Pie at the WD

March 8, 2012

6 o’clock in the evening and the lines at the Winn Dixie stretched into the first aisle.  The self check outs were packed as well.  I had two items and a squirming 18 month old in my arms.  I slid over to the service desk and was pleased to have only one customer in front of me.

Miss Julia started waving, smiled and tilted her head to one side.  She followed it up with a friendly “heeeeyyy!” The old woman turned around and smiled.  Miss Julia started babbling at her and pointing at the things on the counter.  The old woman nodded and smiled.  She then grabbed her bag and headed towards the door.

I gave the clerk the my items and watched Miss Julia lunge for the credit card reader.  She mashed the large green button and squealed with delight as it beep.  I pulled her back and she let out a pitiful “heeelp me!” I slid my debit card and managed to type in my PIN while keeping her little fingers at bay.  With our items paid for I walked out the door as Miss Julia waved goodbye.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

