Skip to content

A Day with the Kids

March 10, 2012

I was woken up at 4:30 a.m. by a small foot being lodged into my stomach.  Mason was contorted into an odd shape with one leg extended and his arms held over his head.  I rearranged him into a more comfortble position and covered him.  I drifted back to sleep.

Two hours later I head a small voice in the next room over.  “Mama? Mama?” She paused.  “Daddy? Daaaaaadddddy?” I slogged out of bed, opened the door between our room, and plucked Miss Julia from her crib.  She looked adorable in her flannel pjs and her scraggly hair.

With Becky out of town for a girls weekend in Nashville, I had the kids.  The only thing we had to do all day was pick up a birthday gift for Mason’s buddy Graham.  We lounged around the house and watched cartoons in bed.  Mason was snuggled on my right, while Miss Julia was on my left.  It was a good morning.

Eventually we cleaned ourselves up and headed up to Thomasville.  We got lunch at Henderson’s, where Mason and Julia were both amazingly well behaved.  Our next stop was Wal-Mart.  Mason wanted to get Graham a spaceship.  The first one we located was made by Lego and contained numerous choke inducing pieces. Snaking up and down the aisles we eventually found a rocketship that Graham’s little sister could not hurt herself on.  After picking a card out, we headed home.

The rest of the day was spent running in and out the back door, pushing the kids on the swings, and keeping Miss Julia from running into an ant bed.  By 8 o’clock she was down for the night, and by 9:30 p.m. Mason and I were ready for bed.  It had been a very fun day, but I was not looking forward to losing an hour of sleep.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

