Skip to content

Brewsday Tuesday: Bud Light Platinum

March 13, 2012

Following last week’s miserable tasting I gave my friend Tyler a bottle of Monte Carlo. I explained to him it was truly horrible, and he returned my kindness by handing me a Bud Light Platinum.  Bottoms up!

Name: Bud Light Platinum

Brewed by: Anheuser-Busch InBev N.V.

Style/ABV: Light Lager / 6.0%

Appearance: Pours a very pale yellow with a fizzy one finger white colored head. It disappears almost immediately.

Smell: Very sweet corn aroma with not much else.

Taste: Opens up with corn sweetness, and that’s about it. No hops or anything else adding any level of complexity. Blah.

Mouthfeel: Watery with a fizziness reminiscent of Sprite.

Overall: This is a watery, highly carbonated, almost odorless beer without much taste. Ice cold it goes down easy, and if your goal is to get hammered on a hot summer day, this will get the job done.  Otherwise, avoid it and get something that resembles an actual beer.

Final Grade: D+

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2012 9:24 am

    I tried it for the first time recently as well (free tasting through an event I was at). Turned down the full bottle but agreed to a small cup. I have a pretty strong dislike of bud light, and thought if I had to pick (you know, if my life was at stake…maybe) I would pick this over bud light. But first I would pick any other liquid. How the heck do they really think they will get liquor drinkers with this stuff? The whole thing confuses me.

    • March 14, 2012 9:55 am

      Marketing. I assume they think by putting it in a snazzy cobalt blue bottle, and calling it “Platinum”, it will get a more sophisticated demographic of people to drink their beer. They should have concentrated on what’s in the bottle, instead of the packaging.

Leave a Reply

