Skip to content

Spring Garden Update: Week 2

March 19, 2012

Last week Mason and I wiped the fire ants out from our garden.  On Wednesday after work I filled the garden up with the kids.  I loosened the soil and then worked in four bags of mushroom compost.  By the time I was finished the soil was nice and rich.

In the front of our little garden we planted a zucchini and a yellow squash.  Behind the squashes we planted (from left to right) a Black Prince and three Early Girl tomato plants.  Behind those we planted (from left to right) a Brandywine and three Celebrity tomato plants.  We also potted another Early Girl.

Planting with the kids was a challenge.  Julia was content to fling dirt onto the ground while Mason filled up every hole I dug for a plant.  He thought it was hilarious to push all the soil back into the holes while I worked a plant out of its biodegradable container.  I have a new found understanding of how patient my aunts were to let me help them “garden” when I was his age.

In total we have two squash plants and eleven tomato plants.  I think that I planted them early enough that I should get a decent amount of each.  Nothing else to do but water them every day and fertilize when needed!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Vina Kent permalink
    March 20, 2012 10:31 pm

    This sounded about like a day trying to plant with my kids. Any gardening tips? I need help!!!!

    • March 20, 2012 10:34 pm

      Ha! It is a challenge to garden with kids! They thought it was a blast to sling dirt out of our bed. 🙂 Gardening tips? Not sure where you live, but you can’t go wrong with water and plenty of fertilizer!

  2. March 28, 2012 10:35 am

    I hope I’m wrong, but I’ve been told by several gardeners that mushroom compost is pretty harsh – apparently it’s way too high in some nutrients and it can burn your garden. Here’s a link you can read for yourself:
    http://extension.oregonstate.edu/gardening/mushroom-compost-use-carefully
    Good luck with your urban gardens!

    • March 28, 2012 12:53 pm

      Thank you for the link! I have heard the same thing if you use it without cutting it with top soil. Some people around where I live use 75/25 mushroom compost to soil. I use 50/50 or less and have not had any problems so far.

      • March 28, 2012 12:56 pm

        Great! I’m glad you’ve found the right mix. It would be so sad to put all that work in and have the plants die!

      • March 28, 2012 12:57 pm

        Exactly! I actually erred too much on the side of caution in my winter garden. I did not have enough nutrients in the soil and my plants suffered. Termites eating my broccoli didn’t help either. 🙂

      • March 28, 2012 1:05 pm

        LOL – we had some kind of worm eat our brussels sprouts last year…dang those suck! Good luck with your garden. I’ll keep checking back; thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

