Skip to content

Planting a Butterfly Garden

March 29, 2012

To the north of our little bungalow stands a large pine tree. The lawn rises up to meet it forming a small berm. Three years ago I planted a lantana. It was promptly eaten by a lawnmower piloted by someone (not me) who thought it was a weed.

image

Becky and I recently stopped at Native Nurseries in Tallahassee. While we wandered through their amazing selection of plants I decided we needed to plant a butterfly garden. We get a few each year who float around the lantana near the street, and I love watching them flutter about.

We picked up a Snow White lantana; Black Knight butterfly bush; three pink moss verbenas; two plants with purple flowers on a tall stalk*; and a beautiful dianthus that smells like vanilla.  I hope the garden flourishes, and that this Summer our yard is a stopping point for butterflies.

*I saved all the little information tabs from each pot so I could write them down. Unfortunately they appear to have fallen victim to someone neatening up the kitchen.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 3, 2012 8:58 am

    I have plans to get this company to come plant some things in my front bed and i’ll need to check out which plants are good for butterflies.

Leave a Reply

