Skip to content

Brewsday Tuesday: I-10 IPA

April 3, 2012

imageI heard Intuition Ale Works recently started putting their beer in cans.  Since growlers tend to go flat before I can drink them I was very happy when I heard this.  On my way out of Jacksonville I dropped by the brewery and grabbed a sixer of I-10 IPA.

Name: I-10 IPA

Brewed by: Intuition Ale Works

Location: Jacksonville, FL

Style/ABV: American IPA / 6.75%

Appearance: Pours a warm amber color with a fluffy white head.  Decent lacing is present as the beer disappears.

Smell: Piney hop notes dominate with some bready malt in the background.

Taste: Opens up with some sweet malt notes, moves into the main event of citrus and piney/evergreen sap hops. Closes with some lingering bitterness. Tasty.

Mouthfeel: Medium body with medium carbonation.

Overall: Proof that good beer can come in a can.  It is a little one sided to the hop side, but it is an American IPA.  A little more balance on the back end and this one is a real winner. This beer gets extra points in my book for being brewed (relatively) locally.  If you’re driving down I-95 make the quick trip to Intuitions’ King Street location and pick up a case or two.

Final Grade: B+

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

