Skip to content

Spring Garden Update: Week 6

April 16, 2012

image

Our garden continues to grow well! I moved the three potted tomato plants to the edge of the garden after I put them in cages.  The plants were beginning to tip over and I was afraid one of the dogs and/or kids would knock them over.  All three plants have flowers on them.  I am curious to see how much taller the Bush Early Girls grow.  Right now they fill the cages 2/3 of the way up.

The tomato plants in the raised bed are doing pretty good.  I have noticed that the two in the middle behind the squash and zucchini plants are smaller than the others.  I attribute this to them receiving less sunlight during the day because of the squash/zucchini leaves.  Despite their smaller stature they have flowers on them, and I hope to get a few tomatoes from each.

image

As for the other six tomato plants in the raised bed, several are starting to get small tomatoes on their vines! Last week I posted a picture of a Better Boy, and this week I noticed the Brandywine had several small tomatoes.  We have never grown Brandywine tomatoes, and love their squat pumpkin-like appearance! It is unlike any tomato we have planted and I read they grow fairly large.

One of the only tomato plants that does not have any small tomatoes on it is our Black Prince.  It has plenty of flowers, and hopefully over the next week or two they will develop.  I am really looking forward to sampling each of the five varieties we planted.  If we pick enough I would love to have people over for a tomato tasting party.

image

Another exciting development is the yellow squash flowers have turned into actual vegetables! I counted eight on one plants, and after striking out in the squash department last year I think it’s pretty cool we may actually pick some this season.  The zucchini is a different story.  It flowers and then they fall off and die.  I think there may be one small zucchini but it may just be a stalk.  I’ll continue to keep an eye on it and hope for the best.

Lastly, our early success this year has me thinking about building a second raised bed.  I would like to use it as a kitchen herb garden and load it up with oregano, basil, thyme, and dill.  I am not sure where to put it, but there is plenty of space in the backyard.  I am going to mull this over before purchasing any lumber.

image

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike O. permalink
    April 17, 2012 11:13 am

    Living in an apartment and not having any yardspace, I am quite jealous of your backyard setup! Here in KY we’re just getting ready to put our plants out as we’ve had some cold snaps and frosty mornings recently.

    As far as herbs, you might want to try out one of these pallet planters the wife has me building for ours. It’s a space saver, easy to care for, and looks cool too!

    http://lifeonthebalcony.com/how-to-turn-a-pallet-into-a-garden/

    • April 17, 2012 12:13 pm

      Thank you! Sometimes I wish our yard was smaller, but then I think of all the cool things we can eventually do with it. It is a work in progress! One benefit of living in North Florida is the really early planting season. Some people put things in the ground in February! I waited until March which is still early.

      That is a really cool idea for an old pallet! It looks really nice and it looks like you can fit a bunch of plants in a small space!

  2. J.Carney permalink
    April 17, 2012 11:24 am

    Looking at your garden pictures, I realize just how far behind my wife and I are!

    • April 17, 2012 12:15 pm

      Early planting is one of the good things about North Florida! I’ve had to recalibrate my mind after growing up in NH. First year I planted tomatoes I put them into the ground in May. I got 3 before they burst into flames in the Summer sun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

