Skip to content

Brewsday Tuesday: Green Flash Le Freak

April 17, 2012

Writing the blog has put me in contact with so many cool people.  The latest is my friend Anyaa who I met on Twitter (follow her, @blackzag05).  She lives in San Diego, CA, and is a beer lover.  After posting some reviews she conacted me and offered to send me some beers to try.  This afternoon when I arrived home there was a box sitting on our porch swing!  I rushed it inside and tore it open. Inside were three bombers of beer.  Tonight I tried the first one, Green Flash Le Freak.  It did not disappoint.

Name: Green Flash Le Freak

Brewed by: Green Flash Brewing Co.

Location: San Diego, CA

Style/ABV: Belgian IPA / 9.2%

Appearance: Pours a hazy light bronze with a nice fluffy two finger off white head.  It slowly disappears. A good amount of lacing is present a this one is consumed.

Smell: Complex with bready malt, bananas, citrus, green apple some spices and a bit of musk.

Taste: Opens with citrus, biscuit and apricot flavors; works into a bit of spice before the hop bitterness kicks in with pine notes.  The finish lingers and the spices, peppy, coriander, reappear.  The alcohol is well hidden and nearly undetecable except for a slight warming sensation as it hits your chest.  Yum.

Mouthfeel: Medium carbonation with a nice creamy full body.

Overall: This beer is unlike any I have ever had.  Its like a Beligian Trippel  and an American IPA had a one night stand and this was their delicious love child.  While the hoppiness of the beer is restrained compared a punch you in the face West Coast IPA, the underlying complexity of the beer makes it a winner.  Oh, and at 9.2% ABV by the end of the 22 oz bomber I was feeling pretty good. Win.

Final Grade: A

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2012 9:54 am

    I want this! I’ll have to keep my eyes out for it. I love the mix of hops and spice in Belgian IPAs.

    • April 18, 2012 9:57 am

      It is definitely worth a try! It was my first Belgian IPA and I really liked it. What is your favorite Belgian IPA? I would like to try another and recommendations are appreciated. 🙂

      • April 18, 2012 2:07 pm

        My favorite is Cambridge Brewing Company’s Audacity of Hops. Grab a bomber next time you’re up in New England!

  2. Mike O. permalink
    April 18, 2012 10:25 am

    Have you tried Green Flash’s Rayon Vert? The flavor of Le Freak sounds similar to it, but RV is bottle conditioned and can end up tasting way off, as I discovered. I wonder if Le Freak is their attempt at standardizing the taste of a Belgian IPA?

    • April 18, 2012 10:49 am

      I have not. This was the first beer from Green Flash I have tried. I wonder if RV is available in N. Fla? I will have to see.

Leave a Reply

