Skip to content

A Molting Cicada

April 18, 2012

image

3 Comments leave one →
  1. J.Carney permalink
    April 19, 2012 7:20 am

    I’m not liking your post because I hate those things! We get the 17-year ones and I have watched swarms of them carry off medium-sized dogs. And when you cut grass, they swarm to the lawnmower because it mimics their mating call, or something. Whatever it is, they go nuts. During that summer of ’04, I felt like God had abandoned us. I have plans to move out of the region before 2021. (Or at least be drunk the whole summer in my basement.)

    • April 19, 2012 9:00 am

      This wins best comment on my blog. I read it at a stop light on my way to work and cracked up. Growing up in NH, I had no idea these things existed. When I saw my first cicada shell I had no idea what it was.

      • J.Carney permalink
        April 19, 2012 9:17 am

        Fear the ‘Bug-that-shall-not-be-Named’! I have severe PTSD from it.

Leave a Reply

