Skip to content

A Package from San Diego

April 19, 2012

Becky called me at work and told me there was something wrapped in plastic on our swing.  She then asked if I was expecting a package.  I told he I was, and that it must be the beer from Anyaa (@blackzag05) from San Diego, California.  She said she was going to send some beers for me to review on my weekly Brewsday Tuesday entry.  I asked her not to move it because I wanted to document its arrival for my blog.  Yes, I realized I am a huge dork, but how ofter do you get beer in the mail? For me, this was a first.  When I got home I plopped Julia on the ground and approached the front steps.  There on the swing was a brown box wrapped in a plastic bag.

image

Anyaa told me she shipped it FedEx, and I was impressed they wrapped it up in plastic and put it under the porch.  A few weeks ago Becky ordered some things that shipped UPS and the delivery guy plopped them uncovered inside the gate.  It later poured, but thankfully the shipper had wrapped the items up in plastic inside the boxes.   Regardless, props to FedEx.

image

I brought the box into the house and set it on the kitchen counter.  It was heavy and I was curious to see what was inside.  In addition to the shipping label the box was emblazoned with the word fragile (frah-gee-lee), Italian for a “be careful there’s booze in this box”.

image

The inside was well packed with brown paper on the first layer…

image

… and newspaper underneath.

image

I found the front page of a local newspaper in the box, UT San Diego, and snapped a quick picture.

image

Underneath the newspaper and sealed in three zip-lock bags were three bombers of beer! I reviewed the first one, Green Flash’s Le Freak this past Tuesday, and it was amazing.  I am saving the other two for the next two Tuesday and cannot wait to sample them.  I am so grateful Anyaa sent me these cool local beers, and I am going to have to come up with something from our area to send to her.

image

Bbbb

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2012 3:37 pm

    I wish someone would ship me AleSmith IPA. I think I need better friends.

    • April 19, 2012 4:28 pm

      It was completely out of the blue and ridiculously awesome. I have never had Ale Smith IPA and am looking forward to trying it next Tuesday!

  2. J.Carney permalink
    April 20, 2012 12:41 pm

    Well, I guess if it can’t be a seductive leg lamp for the front room window, beer is the next best thing! That’s a great gift!

    • April 20, 2012 1:26 pm

      Finally, someone commented on the reference! Agreed, thought a seductive leg lamp would look great in our living room.

Leave a Reply

