Skip to content

Spring Garden Update: Week 7

April 23, 2012

image

My small raised bed has turned into a jungle! The eight tomato plants in the back are all above the highest rung on the cages.  The last hold out, the Black Prince, finally sprouted some small fruit.  They are plum shaped, and I am looking forward to watching them ripen.

One thing I have noticed is the tomato cages really compress the plants, especially at the bottom.  This results in the tomatoes at the bottom of the plant not having much room to grow.  I am not sure how this will ultimately impact the fruit, but I may have to pick them early due to space concerns.

image

On the squash front there is good news and bad.  The good news is my zucchini is producing! There are two small squashes, about 3 inches in length on the plant.  I am pretty excited about that development.

On the negative side, all the small yellow squash had been hit by blossom rot.  Two fell off the vine yesterday, and another is fixing to do so soon.  I am not sure why it is happening, but think it may be due to the plant being rather confined.  Next year I am going to give the squashed 9 square feet a piece instead of the 4 I shoehorned them into this spring.

image

Also, this past week I made a sun jar for the garden.  I took a glass jar (with a latch) from the dollar store and spray painted it with some frosting paint.  I then took the top off a cheap solar light from Target, and attached it to the inside with some packing tape.  It charges all day and illuminates the ground near the bed for about 6 hours at night.  It’s more art than anything practical. But it looks cool so I am happy with how it turned out!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2012 9:57 pm

    an aquarium grade silicone should hold that solar light in place. I ordered the wine bottle light. I’ll let you know if we can reproduce it. 🙂 Garden looks yummy!

    • April 24, 2012 8:57 am

      That is a great idea! I thought about using some adhesive (super glue failed), but the tape held. The silicone would make it look much nicer. I’m interested to see if you can recreate the wine bottle!

  2. Linda French permalink
    April 23, 2012 10:20 pm

    You havve become a real southerner….did you realize you said you were”fixing to” in your garden update?

    • April 24, 2012 8:58 am

      My southern wife has rubbed off on me! I didn’t even realize I did until your comment. #YankeeShame

  3. April 24, 2012 7:26 am

    Everything looks great!!! I am so jealous! I wish my garden was this far along!!

    • April 24, 2012 8:59 am

      Thank you! I hope that I actually get some veggies. I seem to have perfected growing leaves. 🙂

Leave a Reply

