Skip to content

Spring Garden Update: Week 8

April 30, 2012

Our garden continues to grow very well! The tomato plants are all above their cages and loaded with green tomatoes and flowers.  I cannot wait for the first ones to ripen.  I have considered plucking a few of the green ones off the vines to fry, but have held off to this point.  I am not sure how much longer that will last.

Last week I noticed some fungus growth around the bases of the plants.  I brewed up a batch of camomeille tea.  I poured it into a spray bottle and douses the affected areas.  I applied it on two consecutive days and by the third it was gone! Take that fungus!

On another positive note, the yellow squash is producing! The first four or five squashes succumbed to blossom rot.  I read that one way to nip this in the bud (literally) is to remove the flower from the end of the squash.  The trick is to remove them when they are ready so the squash is not damaged.  I tried this and the tiny squashes have grown to a respectable size.  The one above should be ready to pick in a day or two! Take that blossom rot!

Finally, on Friday we left for Atlanta, Georgia.  Before we left I watered the garden and checked the plants out.  The two zucchinis that were on our plant were small, and since we were going away I decided to leave them on the plant.  By the time I got home on Sunday they had doubled in size! After going 0-fer last year I was excited to harvest my first ever zucchini! One was around 12″ long and the other was 10″ in size.  I kept one and gave the other to Miss Cherrie who watches Julia. I am thrilled our garden is starting to yield vegetables and cannot wait to see what we get out of our little 4′ x 4′ bed.

Garden Yield Tracker
– Zucchini: (2) approx 2 lbs.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2012 5:42 am

    So excited for you! I will try your spray on my tomatoes. 🙂

    • May 2, 2012 9:09 am

      The fungus was on the dirt below the plants. I am not sure why it appeared, we did get a lot of rain over a few days, so maybe that was it? Anyway, it killed it off. I read camomile tea is slightly acidic, something our fungus friends dislike. 🙂

Leave a Reply

