Skip to content

Another One Bites the Dust

May 20, 2012

When it comes to cell phone, my luck over the past couple of years has stunk.  My Palm Pixi lasted for about a year before the exterior fell apart and several buttons stopped working.  It was followed by a second-hand Palm Pre that last for about seven.  It met its demise when Mason dropped it and busted the power button.

In November I bought a Samsung Conquer from a guy off Craigslist.  I was still under contract and did not want to pay through the nose for a iPhone.  It operated on Android and it did everything I wanted.  I was able to use Twitter, Facebook, Foursquare, and check my e-mails.  The only down side was the camera, which took less than stellar shots.

Last night when I plugged it into charge it started acted oddly.  The battery light did not come on, and it started cycling through screens.  I brought it into the Sprint store and was told the charging port had corroded.  My options were to buy an upgraded phone, or get a replacement Samsung Conquer through my insurance.  I like not being tied to Sprint for another two years, and opted for the latter option.  My “new” phone should be here by Tuesday, and when it arrives, I hope my string of bad luck ends.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 21, 2012 9:29 am

    My husband is on Sprint and will be switching soon because their service has gone downhill. Come to Verizon; come to the cool kids’ team!

Leave a Reply

