Skip to content

Spring Garden Update: Week 12

May 28, 2012

On Sunday I ripped out the yellow squash and zucchini plants.  The leaves were all turning yellow and they were no longer producing any more vegetables.  Unlike last year, I actually picked both yellow squash and zucchini.  I harvested five yellow squash and eleven zucchini.  The yellow squash number would have been higher, but about 50% fell victim to blossom rot.

I gave each plant four square feet this season.  Next year, I think I am going to double that to eight.  I think being in such a confined space really hampered each squash plant.  Live and learn.   

As for the eleven tomato plants, I am picking two to three every day.  Yesterday I canned my first ever batch of tomatoes.  I packed them in water.  I ended up with four pint jars.  It was easy to do, and I am looking forward to using the tomatoes in sauces and stews this fall. 

The only tomato plants I have not gotten any fruit off of are the two early girl plants.  I find that kind of ironic, since they are supposed to be early producers.  Each plant is loaded with maters, and I expect them to blow up in a week or two. 

Garden Yield Tracker – This Past Week
– Zucchini (3) approximately 3 lbs
– Black Prince tomatoes (4) approximately 1 1/3 lbs
– Celebrity tomatoes (10) approximately 3 1/2 lbs
– Better Boy tomatoes (6) approximately 2 lbs
– Brandywine tomatoes (2) approximately 1 1/2 lbs

Garden Yield Tracker – Total
– Zucchini (11) approximately 11 lbs
– Yellow squash (5) approximately 2 1/2 lbs
– Green Tomatoes (30) approximately 4 lbs
– Better Boy Tomatoes (8) approximately 2 3/4 lbs
– Black Prince tomatoes (4) approximately 1 1/3 lbs
– Celebrity tomatoes (10) approximately 3 1/2 lbs
– Brandywine tomatoes (2) approximately 1 1/2 lbs

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 4, 2012 8:56 am

    My neighbors on either side of my house have been keeping me in tomatoes and basil. I want to start a garden but… no need!

Leave a Reply

