Skip to content

Mason’s First FSU Baseball Game

June 3, 2012

On Saturday night we watched Florida State beat Samford in the NCAA Baseball Tournament.  With the win the Noles moved onto the Sunday afternoon game.  A win in this game would seal an NCAA regional victory and move them onto the Super Regional next weekend. 

I mentioned in passing I should take Mason to the game on Sunday afternoon.  He latched onto it and the first sentences out of his mouth when I woke up were “Are we going to the ballgame?” I said we could and we passed the hours before the game playing cars, trains and watching movies. 

At 4:00 p.m. we got him ready to go.  Becky did his hair and before we left he asked for some smell good.  I sprayed it a little too hard and he smelled like he was heading for a night out on the Tennessee strip. 

While driving to Tallahassee I asked if he was hungry.  He told me he wanted chicken fingers, french fries and a coke.  I hit a drive through and he happily ate as we made our way towards Dick Howser Stadium.  We parked in the main lot and I bought a General Admission ticket.  Since Mason was under five, he got in for free.

We found our seat just as the national anthem was playing.  The seats in the shade on the third base side were full, so we settled in on the first base side.  It was hot.  Mason squirmed and told me he needed to use the potty.  We headed back down into the plaza and found a bathroom. He commented that the bathrooms were dirty and that someone needed to clean them in a nice loud outside voice.  I swear he is an 85-year-old man inside

On our way back to our seats he asked for a cherry ice cream.  Thankfully there was an Italian Slush stand near use and I got him a cup of cherry slush.  He was in heaven as he slurped it out of the cup and onto his face.  His cheeks and nose were red.  I told him he looked like Rudolph the reindeer and he laughed. 

After the end of the second inning Mason looked up at me.  “Daddy, I am ready to go.  I want to go to my home in Monticello, Florida, okay?” I asked if he wanted to stay a little longer and he shook his head.  “No daddy, I saw the ball game.  I want to go home now.”  I held his little hand as we walked back to the car.  He fell asleep by the time we hit Tennessee Street. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2012 12:12 pm

    That’s awesome! I have sat thru several games w/my son, including memorably a Mets Spring League Game in Port St. Lucie with a dear friend, whose bday I was having announced, and my kid was such a pain in the butt we had to leave early (before the bday announcement). I kept hoping the “watching baseball” bug would hit but it never did with my son. Give it time and it’s awesome that you didn’t insist he tough it out for nine innings. 🙂

    • June 4, 2012 12:19 pm

      Even though you were not able to make it through the Port St. Lucie Mets game, that is a great memory! I hope he eventually catches the watching baseball bug, but we’ll see. He has sat through an entire FSU football game, which I was very happy about!

Leave a Reply

