Skip to content

Brewsday Tuesday: Elder Betty

June 5, 2012

Magic Hat’s beers have always had a soft spot in my heart as they were among the first craft brews I tried.  I saw a sample pack sitting in the beer section of the Monticello Winn-Dixie and decided to try some of their newer beers. First up is a hefeweizen brewed with elderberries called Elder Betty.  Should be interesting.  Cheers!

Name: Elder Betty

Brewed by: Magic Hat Brewing Company

Location: Burlington, Vermont

Style/ABV: Hefeweizen / 5.5%

Appearance: Pours a hazy light orange with a thin one finger cream that quickly fades away

Smell: Bready sweet malts and some berry tartness.  Slight citrus note is also detected.

Taste: Bread and berry sweetness in the beginning then some wheat and it closes with some berry tartness.

Mouthfeel: Medium with high carbonation.  Crisp finish.

Overall: This beer is not overly complex, but the berry notes keep it interesting.  It is not a bad summer wheat beer and is worth a try if you see it sitting on the shelf at your local store.

Final Grade: C+

2 Comments leave one →
  1. J.Carney permalink
    June 18, 2012 9:43 pm

    Looks interesting! I’ll give it a try if it comes my way!

  2. June 24, 2012 9:43 am

    So I found this at World Market and bought one. On the way to the car, Elliot strayed into the road and I had to grab his arm. I had the beer bag in that same hand and when I opened the car door and he wrenched free from my grasp, the bag fell to the ground and – bang! – this bottle exploded! The other, different beer I got was magically spared but I have to go back and see if they have any more Elder Betty. Sigh!

Leave a Reply

