Skip to content

Smoked Chicken

June 23, 2012

I decided to bust out the smoker and toss a couple of chickens on for dinner.  I bought two roasters and cut out the back bone.  After patting them dry I put them on a sheet pan while I mixed up a dry rub.  Into a bowl I added paprika; cayenne pepper; kosher salt; black pepper and some brown sugar.  I mixed it up and the coated both the front and back of each chicken.

Outside I filled the water pan with hot water and put an entire chimney full of charcoal into the bottom of the smoker.  I place a few pieces of hickory on top of the charcoal for some added smoke.  The temperature went up to the 280-285 degree range in a hurry with this set up.   The last time I used the smoker ash built up and choked the fire out.  This time I put a metal grate to elevate the coals.  I closed the smoker and hoped this modification would help keep the temperature in the right range.

Two hours into cooking the chickens the temperature began to fall and I added a second chimney full of charcoal.  This brought things back up into the 280 degree range and I was able to finish cooking the chickens.  I let them rest and cut into the breast.  There was a nice smoke ring and the skin was crisp.  I was very happy with the results, and the small modification I made really helped with the cooking time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. J.Carney permalink
    July 23, 2012 10:31 pm

    That sounds delicious! Have you tried tossing in a few brickettes of charcoal every so often to keep the temp constant? My brother-in-law have had a lot of success with that method. (Of course, with two little ones, it’s probably too much to go back to the smoker every 20-30 mins! )

Leave a Reply

