Skip to content

Grilled Brat’s on Nature’s Own Butter Buns

July 1, 2012

This afternoon I grabbed some brats, Nature’s Own Butter Buns, sauerkraut, and stone ground mustard from Publix.  I usually buy the store brand buns to save a little money, but the past couple time they have been stale.  I figured I’d take a chance with Nature’s Own to see if they were better.  After getting things squared away inside I went outside. The South is currently experiencing above average temperatures and thankfully I had a cool drink in hand as I lit the grill.  Above is a video I made detailing some tips for grilling bratwurst.  They can be summed up as follows:

  • Braise your brats in liquid first.  I like using beer with a sliced onion and let them cook ten to fifteen minutes.
  • Finish the brats on the grill over medium heat to brown the exterior.  It takes seven to eight minutes, but times may vary depending on your grill.
  • Serve in a Nature’s Own butter bun with stone ground mustard and sauerkraut.

The brats turned out great and the Nature’s Own butter buns made them even better!  They were fresh and held up to the mustard, kraut and juices from the brat.

Finally, as a mini-giveaway to my readers I have 20 coupons for free Nature’s Own products.  Four lucky readers will get five coupons each.  To enter, all you have to do is leave a comment with a grilling tip on this post or tweet one @mikebonfanti tagged with #GrillThrill.  If you do both (comment + tweet) you’ll get two entries and have a better chance of winning the coupons!  The contest will be open until July 8, 2012, at 11:59 p.m. The winners will be randomly chosen.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2012 10:22 am

    Video came out good! I’m jealous of your side burner on the grill. Whenever my Weber needs replacement (so yeah, like another 10-15 years from now on my 10 year old grill) I’m definitely springing for the side burner. No more having to carry the brats out from the stove!

    • July 2, 2012 10:27 am

      Thanks Bill! That was the first video I’ve done for my blog. Aside from saying “um” a bit too much I’m pleased with it! Becky bought me the grill for Christmas two years ago. I love the side burner! Makes for less trips in and out of the house.

  2. Shelley Long permalink
    July 2, 2012 11:15 am

    I never braise my brats, but you had me at beer. I’ll have to try that on the 4th. I like to think I’m a hell of a grillmaster, but my specialty is a country style rib marinated in a sugar soy sauce marinade. Important to only marinade the ribs as long as the coals take to get ready as they soy sauce will overcome the ribs and be too salty. Finger lickin’ good if you ask me.

    • July 2, 2012 11:19 am

      Braising them makes them much juicier. Straight grilling a brat takes a lot longer and usually but the time it is cooked through, it is dry. Try this way and let me know what you think!

    • July 3, 2012 5:03 pm

      Those ribs do sound finger-lickin’ good! Thanks for your suggestion.

  3. Shelley Long permalink
    July 2, 2012 11:17 am

    Do you prefer gas over charcoal?

    • July 2, 2012 11:21 am

      No. I have a gas grill because it’s more convenient to fire up on a week night to cook dinner. Especially with impatient 2 and 3 year olds in the house! I also have a charcoal smoker which I like to use on weekends to make chicken/pork butts. The smoked charcoal flavor from it cannot be beat!

  4. Tyler permalink
    July 2, 2012 11:23 am

    Nice post, Mike. I’m a huge brat fan myself but with the girls I mainly do hot dogs at this point in time. As for a grill tip, I know it’s borderline blasphemy, but my folks always “spiraled” hot dogs. To save on time (short-handed, zone defense with 3 kids 4 & under), I just cut three slits on the top of the hot dog. They stay juicy and cook evenly for the kids. #grillthrill #thecornishhens

    • July 2, 2012 11:50 am

      I understand about needing to get things done quick! If it works for you, and the kids like them, then it’s all good! Speed is why I go with gas over charcoal during the week. They’d be a riot if they had to wait an hour for a hamburger.

    • July 3, 2012 5:04 pm

      Tyler, great tip! Throw your spiraled dogs on some Nature’s Own buns to really send them over the edge. 🙂

  5. July 2, 2012 11:54 am

    So I need to leave a tip to enter, just realized that.

    My best tip – Experiment, experiment, experiment. I tried my burger recipe at least 5 different ways before I got it exactly like I like it. Cook it hot and fast! #grillthrill #mianusmookies

    • July 2, 2012 12:02 pm

      Yes! In order to qualify you needed to leave a grilling tip! You are now in the running Bill! I agree, not being afraid to try new things is key! Love the PBL influence on the comments too! 🙂

    • July 3, 2012 5:04 pm

      We agree! The more you experiment, the better the final product.

  6. Tyler permalink
    July 2, 2012 3:05 pm

    PBL is awesome. I’m ascending to the top. Just ’til Tulo and Longo get off the DL.

  7. Jeff Price permalink
    July 2, 2012 6:51 pm

    Let’s see grilling tip …. One I always abide by is, when grilling steaks, is taking the steaks out 20-30 min. early to let them warm up a bit. I’ve found this helps in the tenderness of the steak and also provides a more evenly cooked steak. Obviously they should still be marinated in the fridge. And there’s no such thing as too much garlic.

  8. Vicki Kubiak permalink
    July 3, 2012 8:34 pm

    My best grilling tip: make friends with someone who likes to grill so you don’t have to! I’ve never enjoyed the whole cooking outside in the heat thing.

  9. Meeshy permalink
    July 5, 2012 9:15 am

    I like Vicki’s thinking! That’s why I am sharing my EASY grilling tip: Grilled Corn on the Cob: take an ear of corn, rub it with olive oil and basil, wrap in foil and cook on the coals (about 45 mins) it’s easy, yum, and low calories! ENJOY

  10. Meals on Wheels permalink
    July 8, 2012 6:25 pm

    Here’s a (hopefully) useful tip. Buy a good (i.e. digital) BBQ thermometer and a good instant-read thermometer. You cook with a thermometer, not a stopwatch.

  11. July 8, 2012 6:28 pm

    Worried about the heat while grilling? Here’s my tip: grab the trusty George Foreman or Cuisinart grill and hang out in the air conditioned kitchen while everything comes out even with little effort! 🙂

  12. magnoliablossom permalink
    July 8, 2012 6:35 pm

    My grill tip—For best results, set my marshmallows on fire! #grillthrill

  13. Samantha LLoyd permalink
    July 8, 2012 10:58 pm

    My best grilling tip is to make sure you dont add too much liter fluid and cinch your eyebrows when you try and start it. Cough cough, I mean. Not that I’ve done this or anything… 🙂
    Actually I think simple is best. My grandpa used to cook for my entire extended family on four cinder blocks with a metal grate on top and logs underneath. And he kept them wet with a big bowl of BBQ sauce and a paint brush. No one can make BBQ taste the same and less is definitely more!

  14. David Bruchie permalink
    July 8, 2012 11:10 pm

    My grilling tip is, control your heat. You don’t want to cook stuff to fast. A good burger needs to be cooked all the way through without being chard on the outside. Also press your thumb into the middle of the meat patty while still raw so that when it cooks it stays at a uniform thickness throughout rather than having an extra thick middle.

  15. Cindy Johns permalink
    July 8, 2012 11:21 pm

    My grilling tip is to always have a spray bottle of vinegar and water on hand to keep those flames under control.

Leave a Reply

