Skip to content

Spring Garden Update: Week 16

July 2, 2012

It’s over.  The garden is dead! Long live the garden!  The last remaining tomato plants finally succumbed to the heat.  They are completely devoid of any fruit and have started to wither.  It is a bit depressing to see their skeletal stalks being supported by the long green stakes.

My Spring Garden died at the exact wrong time.  The garden centers have no new vegetable plants to fill in our bed.  My plan is now to rip out the old plants, add some nutrients to the soil, and plant a Fall/Winter garden towards the end of August.  I am not sure exactly what I will plant, but I have some time to figure that out.

Overall, we picked a ton of tomatoes from the garden.  We canned some, gave some away, and ate a bunch.  My favorite memory of the garden was watching Miss Julia pick tomatoes off the vine and then eat them.  I am glad she enjoyed the maters, and I will definitely plant more next February.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

