Skip to content

Will You Eat It: Pickled Rope Bologna

July 22, 2012

Becky went to Kentucky for a family reunion.  When she returned she brought everyone a present.  Mason got a checkers set, Julia got a University of Kentucky cheer leading outfit, and I got a UK t-shirt and a jar of picked rope bologna.

You read that correctly. Pickled. Rope. Bologna. Five pounds of the stuff packed in vinegar.  Becky’s Uncle Jerry said it is good to eat with cold beer.  Frankly, I am terrified to open it.  I can only imagine what it will smell like, and the thought of eating it makes me squirm.

The vat of pickled bologna expires in August, so I will have to summon up some bravery and tear into it by then.  I will of course report back with a full review of this Kentucky delicacy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2012 9:40 am

    I’m looking forward to this!

  2. Shari Hill permalink
    July 30, 2012 10:05 am

    EEEWWW Gross! Don’t do it Mike…unless you want to host the next episode of Bizarre Foods from the US, I’d leave that one alone. I was just wondering…any nitrates in it? LOL

  3. August 7, 2012 8:47 am

    Only in the South….

Leave a Reply

