Skip to content

Urbanspoon Prime

August 18, 2012

Urbanspoon is my favorite site for restaurant reviews.  It is user driven and relies on bloggers and diners to post their thoughts about restaurants from coast to coast.  Members also can add new restaurants and suggest edits to those that already are listed on the site.  Whenever I am in a new city and hungry, the Urbanspoon App is the one I use to find a local place with some character.

Since I started reviewing restaurants I have linked them to Urbanspoon.  This allowed my reviews to be read by a larger audience and helped to generate some additional traffic.  It also allowed my blog to be found by others in Tallahassee and led to some cool opportunities, most notably several events at Avenue Eat & Drink, and a trip to San Antonio with Cooper Tires.

Last week I received an e-mail letting me know I had been awarded Urbanspoon Prime status.  Their site stated Prime membership is their way of acknowledging the most active members of the Urbanspoon community. In addition to a sweet badge next to your username you can also edit restaurants or add new ones without their staff’s approval. I realize being excited about this makes me a huge dork, but being able to correct restaurant’s info and close old ones is very cool!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2012 8:17 am

    HA, I would be excited too ;).

    Although, and I know I will get in trouble with this, I tend to agree more with yelp reviews in new cities than urbanspoon.

    There, the secret is out.

    But congrats!

    • August 23, 2012 8:48 am

      I think this makes my food dork status official. 🙂

      Your secret is safe with me! 😉 I like Yelp too, but I like that Urbanspoon is just focused on restaurants.

  2. August 24, 2012 9:26 am

    Jealous!

    • August 24, 2012 9:40 am

      HA! Keep blogging and you’ll earn it too! I think I am the only one in Tally with Prime. Makes it kind of lonely over on the Prime Message Board…

Leave a Reply

