Skip to content

We Can Haz Froot Goodies!

August 23, 2012

It never fails. We make a grocery list. We go shopping. We arrive home to discover we forgot to put several items on the lists we absolutely need.  It is never things like nutmeg, pickled bologna, or hand soap.  Nope. Instead its items that will grind life as we know it to a screeching halt.  This time it was toilet paper, dog food, and cat food.  The toilet paper is self explanatory.  The pet food is needed to avoid a riot by our four legged overlords.   Sadie Mae will sit by the bowl and wail, while I am pretty sure Molly (our wiener dog) would eat us in our sleep.

In the interest of self preservation I made a Winn Dixie run this morning.  I asked Mason and Julia if they wanted to go and you would have thought I told them we were going to Disney.

“Winn Dixie? Yeah! I want to go!” said Mason.

“Yay! Yaaaay! Yaaaaaaaaay!” said Miss Julia.

I strapped them into their car seats and made the 500 foot drive to the store. Mason wanted to walk while Miss Julia was confined to a buggy.  I headed towards the cat food as Mason struck up a conversation.

“Daddy. We need fruit goodies, okay. Meme gets them for us and we don’t have anymore.”

I had no idea what fruit goodies were, never mind the fact we were out of them.  I attempted to switch the conversation to something related to dog food but was stifled by an expert in getting what he wants.

“Fruit goodies are good for you. Let’s get some daddy.”

I followed him towards the peanut butter and Jell-O aisle.  To the left I saw the fruit goodies. They were little packages of fruit snacks packed full of high fructose corn syrup.

“I want the Thomas goodies. and Sissy wants another one.”

I handed him one box of Thomas the Train fruit snacks and we shuffled towards the front door. After paying and getting them both into the car I handed them a each a packet. They happily snacked on their fruit goodies as we headed towards the day care.  Nothing like sending your kids off for the day all hopped up on sugar.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 25, 2012 8:24 am

    Zoe is obsessed with those too. Not quite as “healthy” as they should be with a label that says fruit but they can be lifesavers in crisis time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

