Skip to content

Worth the Wait

September 8, 2012

Four hour service windows are a terrible thing.  This morning DirecTV was coming out to upgrade out receiver and satellite dish.  They were scheduled to arrive sometime between the hours of 8 a.m. and 12 p.m. I hoped the technician would arrive closer to the beginning of the window, rather than the end.  While we waited we cleaned the house, ate breakfast, and watch ESPN College GameDay.

At 10:30 a.m. I called DirecTV to see when I could expect their guy to arrive.  After bouncing between two operators I was told I would be called in 30 minutes to tell me when the technician would arrive.  30 minutes passed without a call.  My phone rang at 11:45 a.m. and I was told by the technician he was running way behind and would be there in a half hour.

When the technician did arrive he got right to work and swapped our out old satellite dish for an HD version.  He then hooked up the new receiver; programmed the remotes; and set up DirecTV Cinema.  The last was unexpected, and I was told it will hook the DVR up to our home network and allow us to stream Youtube, Pandora, and on-demand shows to our TV.  The signal was a little weak (our router is in the opposite corner of the house), but the guy said to give it a try. It will be interesting to see what it can do. By the time he left it was after 1 p.m., but I was happy everything was hooked up.  I am happy we will be able to watch college football and the NFL in HD.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

