Skip to content

Hello NFL!

September 9, 2012

After an appetizer on Thursday night the 2012 NFL season kicked off this afternoon.  The Jaguars traveled to Minneapolis to play Christian Ponder and the Vikings.  While I have a soft spot for CP7 I was hoping the Jags would contain him and escape the Metrodrome with a win.

As the game kicked off Becky and I were decked out in our Jags gear. Charlotte came over and together we watched a very exciting first half.  During halftime we had Bobby Deen’s baked chicken wings and baked sweet potato fries.

With under 30 seconds in the game it looked like the Jags were going to win when Blaine Gabbert threw an amazing pass to Cecil Shorts.  Sadly, the Vikings came back to tie it in regulation, and then won in OT.  Even though the Jags lost, they looked a heck of a lot better than last season.  Hopefully, they can get into the win column next week.

*On a side note it also was the start of fantasy football. I of course listened to the “experts” and sat Adrian Peterson. He ran for 84 yards and scored 2 TDs. Miserable.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2012 9:10 am

    Oh no! Always sucks when the experts are wrong; gotta go with your gut.

    • September 10, 2012 11:33 am

      I know. But all the talk was about how he wasn’t 100% and would only get 5-10 touches. I just knew if I started him, he’d be on the bench.

      Reggie Bush got me 10 and I am down 85-82. I have McFadden playing tonight while the other guy has Antonio Gates. It starts at 10:30 p.m. and I can see myself staying up until it’s over around 2 a.m. #FantasyFootballDork

      • September 10, 2012 12:55 pm

        Good luck! I am up 18 on my husband but he still had gates and Torrey Smith so we’ll see!

      • September 10, 2012 2:15 pm

        If you stay up I’m impressed. Rivers will need to pull it out for me tonight, but I have to make up 20 points. I think the Chrebets will be having crow for breakfast on Tuesday.

  2. September 10, 2012 2:31 pm

    So, I take it you’ll be watching the late game too? You need to practice for what is coming on Thursday. 🙂

    You never know which Rivers will show up. I think he will rebound nicely this year. 20 points isn’t insurmountable.

    On a different note, Becky is prolly going to win her opening game. If I lose, it’ll be a rough week at Casa Bonfanti.

    • September 10, 2012 2:32 pm

      No way, I’ll be asleep. lol. I’ll check it in the morning. Enjoying the last days of uninterrupted sleep for a while.

Leave a Reply

