Skip to content

Brewsday Tuesday: Wailau Wheat

September 11, 2012

Another Tuesday brings another of Kona Brewing’s beers to my pint glass.  This week it is Wailau Wheat which is brewed with passion fruit. Should be interesting.  Okole maluna!

Name: Wailau Wheat

Brewed by: Kona Brewing Co.

Location: Kailua Kona, HI

Style/ABV: American Pale Wheat Ale / 5.4%

Appearance: Pours a bright gold with a thin one finger head that disappears almost immediately.

Smell: Sweet smelling fruit and a light hint of wheat.

Taste: Opens with some wheat malts before moving into the passion fruit. It is sweet and lingers on the palate.

Mouthfeel: Light body with medium carbonation.

Overall: The passion fruit notes really dominate this beer. It was refreshing, and interesting, but I am not sure if I would pick it up again.  On the same note, I wouldn’t refuse one if it was handed to me.

Final Grade: C+

No comments yet

Leave a comment