Skip to content

Fall Garden Update: Week 5

October 8, 2012

The caterpillars have turned my Swiss chard into Swiss cheese.  It started at the beginning of last week, and by the time I was able to get to the garden center on Thursday the damage was done. Not only did they get the Swiss chard, they started in on the cabbage.  The only plants to escape were the collards.

I killed the pest with an organic pest control containing Spinosad.  By the next morning the caterpillars were toast, but I don’t think the damaged plants will make a comeback, especially one that is little more than stems. It was my first time encountering the leaf eating hordes, and the next time they decided to visit my garden I will be prepared.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

