Skip to content

Carving a Jack-O-Latern and Baking Pumpkin Seeds

October 26, 2012

Tonight we carved a Jack-O-Lantern with the kids. I set the pumpkin on the counter and asked Mason what shapes he wanted me to drawn.

“Make the eyes circless. And the nose a triangle. And the mouth a rectangle, okay daddy?”

I dutifully drew the shapes on the pumpkin allowing for a little artistic license.  I turned it around and let him take a look before I started carving.

“I like it daddy!”

Using one of our paring knives I cut open the top and began scooping out the innards.  The best way to do this is with your hand and the kids let out an “eeewww” as the slimy sting laden with pumpkin seeds hit the cookie sheet.  I continued to clean out the interior of the pumpkin with a small spoon while Becky picked out the seeds and baked them in the oven.

When the pumpkin was carved we got a candle and placed it inside.  I lit it and the kids let out a “ooohhh!”  We put it on the kitchen counter and let it glow while we snacked on the seeds.  They were very good and we had a good night together as a family.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

