Skip to content

You Win Caterpillars

October 29, 2012

The caterpillars ate my garden. I put up a good fight, but they were too many, and the weather was too warm.  They destroyed the Swiss chard and did a number on the cabbage. They are peppered with holes and do not look appetizing.

The pests were starting to inhale our greens, and this was the last straw.  I decided we were going to get something from the garden and picked three collard plants yesterday afternoon.  I soaked them in water, and after making sure they were caterpillar free, dumped them into a pot of seasoned boiling water.  They turned out pretty well, and we enjoyed them along with the ham and mashed potatoes I made for dinner.

I am going to give planting greens, cabbage, and Swiss chard another try once it gets colder.  Becky said the old men at her school said it was too early to plant, and that is why my garden became caterpillar food.  When I get some free time I will remove the skeletal remains of the current plants from the soil, and get ready to give it another shot.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

