Skip to content

Avoid Wal-Mart on a Saturday Afternoon

November 10, 2012

I like to go grocery shopping early in the morning.  This allows me to avoid crowds and have the rest of the day to do things.  Today we made our lists late  and after driving to Tallahassee, and grabbing some lunch it was almost 2:00 p.m. before I pulled into the parking lot.

The place was packed. I grabbed a buggy and the right front wheel had a huge flat spot. I grabbed another. This one had a rear wheel that refused to turn. The third one’s handle was covered in an unknown sticky substance.  The fifth one was decent, and I walked into the human maelstrom known as Wal-Mart on a Saturday afternoon.

The place was crawling with elderly people cruising in their motorized chairs. I did my best to avoid them but constantly got stuck behind a 90 year old woman who looked at several boxes on the same product before putting one in her basket.

Following another 30+ minute drive home it took me another 45 minutes to bring everything inside and away.  It was 5:00 p.m. and the day was over. The entire adventure made me want to move closer to a grocery store in either Thomasville or Tallahassee.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    November 11, 2012 3:09 pm

    Oh, you poor thing! Never on Saturday is our rule. My husband likes to go (if he HAS to) on a weekday evening…about 9:30pm. And don’t just blame the “elderly.” What about the little kids taking things from the shelves with no Mom in sight? Or the screaming babies? Or worse, a small child pushing a teeny shopping cart? On any day grocery shopping is a trial. But Saturday, it’s a trial + conviction + sentencing! 🙂

    • November 11, 2012 3:25 pm

      I know! It was my own fault. Yes, I know there are other culprits, but I think an nursing home dropped off all its residents yesterday afternoon! It was ridiculous. Lesson learned, next time we’ll order pizza and go shopping the next morning. 🙂

      • November 12, 2012 10:10 am

        Weak sauce Bonfanti! It wasn’t all that bad.

      • November 12, 2012 10:21 am

        It was terrible! How long had you been there? 10 mins? You had four items in your buggy. I’d been battling the elderly and infirm for over an hour. 🙂

  2. November 13, 2012 8:59 am

    I prefer not to shop at Wal-mart period but yes, early morning is def the best. We go to Target on Sunday mornings right as they open.

    • November 13, 2012 9:22 am

      Price wise for staples they can’t be beat. Publix is overpriced on things like cereal unless you hit BOGO. But I agree, morning is the best time or else, #DOOM and #PANIC set in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

