Skip to content

My Hostess Haul

November 17, 2012

Hostess, the making of Twinkies, HoHos, and Ding Dongs, is going out of business.  From the news articles I read, management asked striking workers to take a pay cut in order to keep the doors open.  Hostess was not in the best financial place with a large pension burger and rising medical costs.  Instead of cutting a deal, the bakers union refused and the company decided to liquidate.

With news of Twinkie production coming to a screeching halt people started a run on the iconic American snack cake.  Boxes of them began selling on e-bay and Craigslist for hundreds of dollars.  I sat at my desk shaking my head at the thought of paying a premium for the little yellow cake that was almost guaranteed to have enough chemicals in it to survive a direct nuclear strike.

This afternoon I ran down to Winn Dixie to pick up a couple of things.  While cruising the aisles I ran across the buzzard picked Hostess display.  The only things remaining were some fruit cakes (yuck) and a box of chocolate filled Twinkies.  I have never bought a box of Hostess snack cakes, but picked up the chocolate filled Twinkies and put them in my basket.

On the way home a thought crossed my mind. Sure Hostess may sell the intellectual rights to their snack cakes to another bakery, like Flowers or Bimbo. But would a Flowers make Twinkie be the one of my youth? Or would it be like a crappy contract brewed “craft” brew? I could not live with knowing Mason and Julia never got to eat a real Twinkie, and made a bee-line to Freds.

I walked in the door and hit the Hostess mother lode. Cupcakes, Ding Dongs, Sweet Sixteen Donuts, and legit vanilla creme filled Twinkies.  I grabbed a box of each.  When I walked in the door, the kids eyes lit up.  They did not know what anything in the white boxes were, but they innately sensed they were full of junk food.

I set them on the stove.  Julia’s little hand darted towards the box.  I told them they could have one treat.  Mason went for a chocolate filled Twinkie, while Miss Julia snagged a chocolate donut. I peeled back the Twinkie wrapped and watched Mason take a bite.

“How do you like it?”

“It’s really good daddy! It’s delicious!” he said as he took the rest into our bedroom to watch cartoons.

Wait until I let him try a Ding Dong or cupcake.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 18, 2012 3:00 pm

    now what will they have to deep fry at the fair if twinkies are to be no more?! the horror!

Leave a Reply

