Skip to content

Eat This: Uno Deep Dish Pepperoni Pizza

November 20, 2012

I like thin crust pizza.  In fact, the thinner the crust, the better the pizza in my opinion. So when I walked out of the local Winn Dixie with a Chicago style deep dish pizza I had fairly low expectations. The last time I had Uno’s pizza was at one of their restaurants in Boston about a decade ago.  I don’t remember anything particularly positive or negative about the pizza, so I went into the taste test with a blank slate.

Unlike the last one I purchased Uno Deep Dish Pepperoni Pizza, was not cloaked by any notion of being a healthy option.  I did not want to scare myself with the nutritional information, and deliberately avoided it as I unpacked the pizza.  It came wrapped in plastic and was over an inch thick.  Reading the directions I set the over to 375°F.  It noted for a “more authentic Uno Chicago Grill flavor add 3 tbs of vegetable oil to a round cake pan and bake.”  I tossed some oil in a pan, wiped it out with a paper towel, and plopped the pizza into it.  It was a perfect fit, and I slid it into the oven.

35 minutes later the timer went off and I took the pizza out.  I allowed it to cool for 4 minutes before placing it onto a plate and slicing into it.  As I removed the first slice cheese and sauce flooded the vacant space.  The crust was buttery and flaky.  I was amazed it was a frozen pie, and tasted like something you would get at a restaurant.   The sauce had a nice tomato flavor and was not overly sweet.  The cheese and pepperoni were plentiful.  This was a fat kid pie, and I was impressed by the pizza.  The following morning it tasted just as good cold, and as an added bonus, both of the kids enjoyed it (hot and cold).

Price: $5.99 with tax
Crust: A
Sauce: A
Toppings: A
Overall: A

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2012 10:34 am

    Deep Dish? Deep Dish? Never!

    • December 5, 2012 11:34 am

      I know, I know. I was skeptical going in, but it was actually really good. The crust alone was worth the price.

Leave a Reply

