Skip to content

Making Clark Griswold Proud

November 25, 2012

We have lived in our little bungalow for seven years.  When Christmas arrives Becky goes all out decorating the inside and making it feel very cozy.  This year we added small Christmas trees to each of the kids room.

Outside, is a different story.  Aside from two small trees on either side of the front door our decorations have been nonexistent.  Today, while Becky was watching the Jaguars (they actually won) I decided to string some lights on our house. I headed to Freds with a rough idea of what I wanted to do, but little in the way of an actual plan.  I decided it was better to over buy than have to make multiple trips.

When I got back to the house I made a bee line for the garage to get the ladder.  I opened the door and soon discovered it was missing.  Refusing to admit defeat, I rigged up a pole with a hook to string the lights along the front gable.  After a bit of trial and error I was able to get them onto the nails left by the home’s previous owner.

Once the gable lights were up, I wrapped them around the four front columns. Of course, I put them on backwards (the female end of the plug nearest to the outlet), and had to restring them.  Following this minor hiccup, I plugged them in and waited for it to get dark. I felt like Clark Griswold.

Before going to bed, I took Mason and Julia outside to see the lights. As soon as they walked out the front door they started to ooh and ahh.  I told Mason to close his eyes, and then turned him around.

“Wow daddy! This is awesome!”

“You like it?”

“Yeah daddy. Why did you put lights on the house?”

“For you and your sister little man.”

“Wow daddy. This is the best day ever. I love you.”

He gave me a hug. I love being a dad, and our house looks great. I want him to have amazing memories of his childhood Christmases. And I think a few strings of lights on our old house is a good way to start the 2012 Christmas season.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2012 5:42 am

    It looks great Mike! Well done!

  2. November 26, 2012 2:14 pm

    Nice work. It looks great.

    I imagine in my house the last line would have been, “Wow daddy. It’s cold outside. Can we go in?”

    • November 27, 2012 9:50 am

      I am sure that will be there reaction in a couple of years. For now, at ages 2 & 3, there are amazed by everything.

  3. November 27, 2012 8:58 am

    It looks great!!

  4. December 5, 2012 6:52 pm

    Great job and a great bungalow!

Leave a Reply

