Skip to content

The First Jam of the Year

February 3, 2013

We picked up 5 pounds of strawberries while grocery shopping on Saturday. When we got home from church this afternoon Becky cleaned the berries while I crushed them with a potato masher.

Once we had four cups we tossed them into a pot along with 9 teaspoons of lemon juice and 4 1/2 tablespoons of pectin. The mixture cooked over medium heat until it began to boil.

At this point we added three cups of sugar and stirred the jam for one minute. We then poured the jam I to wide mouthed Mason jars, sealed the tips, and processed them in a hot water bath for 10 minutes.

We ended up with 8 jars of jam. I tried some that was left over in the pan, and it tasted really good. We are going to have to make another batch soon while strawberries are in season.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2013 8:49 am

    So jealous of people who have strawberry season in February. 🙂 We have a long, long wait for that one. My goal is always to manage a strawberry jam without pectin that doesn’t fall off the plate too much. Sometimes I even make it work.

    • February 5, 2013 8:53 am

      I had to adjust my mental clock when I moved down to Florida from NH. It still blows my mind I can plant a garden this month…

      Why do you not use pectin in your jam?

      • February 5, 2013 9:03 am

        I prefer not to add things if I don’t have to, and I don’t really like the firm set pectin gives. I often use jam to turn plain yogurt into yummy fruit yogurt and a too-firm jam doesn’t work for that. But strawberries are tricky because they have so little natural pectin, so you have to do strange things like boiling the syrup separately, or adding extra lemon. It’s fun trying though.This was one that worked. http://jamsandchutney.wordpress.com/2011/06/26/mmmmm-strawberries-part-3/

      • February 5, 2013 9:11 am

        That is really cool! I never knew you could make jams without it. I am going to give it a whirl and see how it turns out. I found this site too that makes pectin with apples and lemons for fruit that needs it. 🙂

  2. February 5, 2013 1:38 pm

    This sounds wonderful. I’ll have to try it!

    • February 5, 2013 3:49 pm

      Making jam is easy Bill! I am sure you’d be good at it since you have skills in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

