Skip to content

Swinging By Himself

May 18, 2013

Photos 861

Since we got Mason and Miss Julia their swing set for Christmas in 2010 pushing them has been my job. Usually the first words out of their mouths when I get home is “will you push us on the swings daddy?” They have spent countless hours going back and forth while I stood behind and watched them glide through the air.   It is fun to listen to them chat and asked to be pushed higher.

Recently Miss Julia has gotten to the point where she will get on, pump her legs, and start swinging on her own.  She learned to do this at big girl school because Miss Angie and the other teachers get tired of pushing little ones.  Mason on the other hand has been resistant to swing on his own.  He always needed a push to get going, or a push to go higher.

Well tonight was the first time he told me he could do it on his own.  He got on the swing, started kicking his legs back and forth, and before long was gliding through the air.  I felt a mixture of pride tinged with sadness.  I was thrilled he could swing on his own, but a little sad he no longer needed me to help him.  I think that sums up how being a dad feels each time your child reaches a milestone, no matter how small.

*A quick note, he still asks for a push now and then. He likes to play the planet game and talk to me as he swings.  I know this won’t last forever, but I’ll enjoy it while I can.  Also, the video above was taken on January 1, 2011, a few days after he got his swing set.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

