Skip to content

Backyard Camp Out

May 24, 2013

Photos 897

We got Mason a tent and sleeping bag for his second birthday.  It may have been a little early, as our prior attempts at camping out consisted of me setting the tent up, Mason getting into the tent, becoming scared of the dark, bursting into tears, and running into the house to find his momma. Undeterred by past camp outs Becky planned another one this evening complete with a spanking new fire pit.

After assembling the fire pit we set the tent up in the backyard.  I was lazy and instead of grilling hot dogs, steamed them.  The kids didn’t seem to mind and we followed them up with a pile of s’mores legitimately made over a camp fire.  We then listened to music, watched the moon rise over Casa del Sinsonte, and then headed off to bed.

Becky and Miss Julia spent the night inside while Mason and I slept in the tent.  We watched the moon, listened to the cats run around outside, and read a Green Arrow comic book.  He didn’t cry, and instead slept the entire night.  We were awoken by the birds the next morning.  I was proud he spent the entire night outside and he immediately asked to do it again next weekend.

Photos 884

Mase and dad the morning after surviving a night in the wild

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2013 4:11 pm

    I loved backyard camp outs when I was a kid. I had 4 siblings growing up and never had a room of my own, so I always begged my parents to let me stay out all by myself! A flashlight and a book and I was set!

    • May 30, 2013 4:16 pm

      I can imagine it was a bit of solitude! We read Green Arrow by flashlight. Miss Julia claimed the tent the next morning and spent some time reading her books curled up in the sleeping bags with our dachshund. 🙂

Leave a Reply

