Skip to content

Memorial Day 2013

May 27, 2013
Photos 921

Firing up a chimney full of coals on a dark North Florida morning

I woke up this morning at 4:00 a.m. to smoke a pork butt.  By 4:45 my smoker was up and running. I sat on the patio listening to our sleepy town wake up.  Tractor trailers rumbled, squirrels chatted, and bird chirped.  It was a peaceful backdrop as I kept an eye on the fickle fire in my Brinkman and fired up an extra chimney full of charcoal as the temperature dropped.

Photos 928

On a hot day a pool and a Slip and Slide equals kid heaven!

The kids and my better half eventually stirred and we began getting the house ready for company.  Our neighbor Mary came down with her two girls around lunchtime.   She was followed by Tyler with his wife and their three girls a few hours later.  Our friends Jared and Kirk dropped by too, and by early evening we had a full house with seven kids running around the yard chasing after Kirk with plastic swords.

Mason and Jared playing baseball

By the time everyone left the kids were exhausted.  Following a quick bath they both went to bed and slept like rocks.  I am glad they had a pile of kids to play with in the yard and had fun swimming in the pool.  By the way, the butt came out amazingly well and tasted great with some of my homemade Western N.C. style BBQ sauce.

Photos 930

Puddin’ eating some watermelon

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 31, 2013 6:16 pm

    I see the tin foil extension!
    next tip:ditch the brinkman!
    I took my perfectly good one to the dump a few months ago.
    I had enough of the hot-cold-warm-cold-cold bs when trying to get something cooked.
    nothing worse than spending all day hovering over a smoker that needs constant supervision.
    I’m getting far better results in a weber smokey joe now

Leave a Reply

