Skip to content

Raspberry-Limeade Cake

May 19, 2009

A slice of raspberry-limeade cake

Becks got the new issue of Cooking with Paula Deen and as I flipped though it a recipe for Raspberry-Limeade cake caught my eye.  I decided to bake it and bought the necessary ingredients in Tallahassee when I went grocery shopping. 

While Charlotte and Becks watched Mason I worked in the kitchen mixing, mashing and whipping up dessert for us to have after dinner.  In addition to baking three 9 inch cakes I had to make the raspberry filling and also the homemade cream cheese frosting.  It required the use of many mixing bowls and by the end of the recipe the dishwasher was full of baking pans, mixing spoons and cooling racks covered in Raspberry-Limeade cake goodness. 

I am happy to say that the cakes and the raspberry filling turned out perfectly.  However, the cream cheese icing was a bit soupy and I think this occurred because my kitchen was hot and I did not place it in the refrigerator.  As a result, the cake did not look very pretty (except for the top) once it was iced.   The next time I make this recipe I will make sure to either add more confectionery sugar to thicken the icing up or refrigerate it during the time I let the cakes cool down.  Thankfully this did not affect the taste and everyone really liked the cake. 

Raspberry-Limeade Cake

Ingredients:
– 3/4 c. butter softened
– 2 cups sugar
– 1 tbs lime zest
– 3/4 c. limeade concentrate
– 5 large eggs
– 3 3/4 c. all-purpose flour
– 2 3/4 tsp baking powder
– 1 1/2 c. whole buttermilk
– raspberry filling (see below)
– cream cheese icing (see below)
– garnish of lime slices and whole raspberries

Instructions:

  • Preheat over to 350 degrees F, spray three 9 inch round cake pans with non-stick cooking spray.
  • In a large bowl beat butter, sugar and lime zest at medium speed with an electric mixer until fluffy.  Add limeade concentrate, beating until combined (mixture will look curdled).  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  • In a medium bowl combine flour and baking powder.  Gradually add to butter mixture, alternately with buttermilk, beginning and ending with flour mixture, beating just enough to combine after each addition. 
  • Pour batter evenly into prepared pans and bake for 17-20 minutes until wooden skewer comes out clean from center.  Let cool in pans for 10 minutes once finished baking and then remove cakes from pans.  Allow to cool completely on wire racks.
  • Once cooled, spread raspberry filling evenly between layers and ice with cream cheese frosting. Garnish as desired.

Raspberry Filling

Ingredients:
– 1 (10 oz.) package of frozen raspberries
– 1/2 c. sugar
– 2 tbs cornstarch
– 3 egg yolks
– 1 tbs fresh lemon juice
– 1/4 c. butter cut in pieces

Instructions:

  • Blend raspberries until smooth in a food processor.  Strain mixture and discard solids.
  • In a medium saucepan, combine sugar and cornstarch.  Add raspberry puree, egg yolks, and lemon juice, whisking to combine. 
  • Cook over medium heat whisking constantly, for 7 to 8 minutes or until very thick.  Remove from heat, whisk in butter gradually until melted. 
  • Cool mixture slightly then cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

Cream Cheese-Limeade Icing

Ingredients:
– 1 (8 oz.) package of cream cheese, softened
– 1/2 c. butter, softened
– 3 tbs limeade concentrate
– 1 tbs lime zest
– 5 c. confectioners’ sugar

Instructions:

  • In a large bowl, beat cream cheese and butter at medium-high speed with an electric mixer until creamy.  Add limeade concentrate and lime zest, beating at low speed until combined.  Gradually add confectioners’ sugar, beating until smooth. 
26 Comments leave one →
  1. S Mac permalink
    June 6, 2009 2:25 pm

    2-3/4 Cups Baking Powder??? CUPS??? That can’t be right! Also, you may want to try using spellcheck!

    • June 7, 2009 5:39 pm

      Thanks for the comment!

      It’s teaspoons not cups! That would have made for a very bubbly cake.

      Spelling is not my strong suit, just ask my 5th grade teacher Ms. Belisle. 😛

  2. Mary permalink
    June 11, 2009 7:09 am

    Thank you so much for providing the recipe and very helpful comments. I’m going to try it this weekend!

  3. dreadree permalink
    June 11, 2009 3:53 pm

    Thank you soooo much for posting this recipe! I love this cake and I lost my issue of the magazine at work. Thanks again!

    • June 11, 2009 11:03 pm

      Glad I could help! The cake is very delicious and losing such a great recipe would have be a tragedy. 🙂

      • LANN permalink
        June 21, 2009 12:46 pm

        I made this cake and used splenda instead of sugar. It was okay – but the cake was very heavy and didn’t look like the picture. Do you know if this could be the splenda, or did I do something else wrong?

      • June 23, 2009 3:04 pm

        Lann, I have never cooked with Splenda so I am not sure if it affected the way the cake turned out. Sorry!

  4. Kathy permalink
    June 21, 2009 9:20 pm

    I made this cake today for my daughter’s 27th birthday. Made the filling at 5:30 this morning, popped it in the fridge. Came home this afternoon and made the frosting, put it in the fridge. Then I baked the cake. Let it cool. Bottom layer, filling, back in the fridge for a while. Added the middle layer, filling, back in the fridge. Added the top layer, so far so good. Oops, the raspberry filling is now squishing out from between the layers. Start to put the frosting on (fast!!). The filling is oozing out, the frosting is sliding down the sides of the cake, because the filling is squishing out. Frosting faster, faster, thought maybe I would put it in the fridge for a while. No time–middle layer is sliding out from between top and bottom layers. Quick–cut it in slices and put it on the plates. Happy Birthday to you (quick version). Been a long time since I had a kitchen disaster of this magnitude. My daughter appreciated the effort and thought the end result tasted good. Glad we could laugh it off.

    • June 23, 2009 3:04 pm

      Sounds like you had a similar experience to what I did while frosting the cake. I think the recipe for the filling and frosting needs to be tweaked to thicken them both up. Glad it tasted good!

      • Mandy Heintz permalink
        June 30, 2011 8:41 pm

        Just a bit of information that may help out on this cake. I bake plenty of cakes, and all though it does help to refrigerate layers in between frosting them. A couple of good hints: 1- if you are not planning on eating this cake the day you make it, freeze layers. Keeps the moisture in the finished cake. 2- make a little extra frosting, but make it thicker by adding more powdered sugar. Before you add filling between layers, put a small amount of the thicker frosting into a pastry bag and pipe out along the edges of the cake. Place filling inside the frosting you just piped out. When you add the next layer of cake, the frosting acts like a barier for the filling, thus not letting it seep out of the cake. Good luck!

    • linda monge permalink
      June 30, 2009 10:00 am

      I had the same problem with my cake! My husband went to the fridge to get something out, and I had an avalanche all over the bottom of my fridge. The cake also didn’t rise, it was dense, and I had new baking powder too. I will never attempt this cake again!! A waste of time, money and ingredients!!!!

    • May 17, 2010 2:37 pm

      I HAD THE EXACT SAME DISASTER IN MY KITCHEN. I MADE TWO ATTEMPTS AT THIS CAKE, CAREFULLY MEASURING EACH AND EVERY INGREDIENT BOTH TIMES. NEVER AGAIN, ITS TOO COSTLY AND TIME CONSUMING. I HAVE TO LAUGH, AS I WATCHED THE CAKE LAYERS BEGIN TO SLIDE I MADE EVERY ATTEMPT TO SALVAGE WHAT I COULD BY SLICING AND PLACING ON PLATES, IF I WAS AN OCOTOPUS I MAY HAVE BEEN SUCCESSFUL. I DID SALVAGE ONE SLICE THAT I HAVE PHOTOGRAPHED AND ARCHIVED IN MY PERSONAL RECIPE FOLDER. I WOULD LOVE TO HEAR OF ANY SUCCESSES AND YOUR RECIPE ALTERATIONS. SMILES TO ALL WHO ATTEMPT!

  5. Ann Krock permalink
    June 24, 2009 2:15 pm

    The cake didn’t look ANYTHING like the photo!! I was expecting a snow white cake and instead had a yellow heavy as a brick bat cake. After thinking it over I came to decide that with that many egg yolks the cake didn’t have a chance on being the snow white one in the photo. Can you tell me why you think it might have been so heavey?? I liked the flavor but next time, if there is one, I will use more lime in the icing.

    Thanks.

    • June 24, 2009 9:23 pm

      I agree, with all of the egg yolks that went into the batter the chances of it being a white cake were slim. I am not sure why it was so heavy. My cake was also very dense. Maybe next time you could try to sift the flour and perhaps use a little more baking powder? I am still a rookie when it comes to baking cakes.

  6. the princess permalink
    June 29, 2009 10:07 am

    well guys i read your complaits and i am a pastry chef and have a few tips one yes always sift and if in doubt resift ha ha the denseness comes from too much flour check your measurements guys. as for the filling to thicken it up a bit more keep it on the heat a little longer you will find it gets really thick. and for an even thicker filling after the heat put it in the fridge over night by morning its very thick and spreads a little easier ( and depending on humidity you may need to nuke it a min or so to spread out easily) as for the frosting i would lessen the powdered sugar add an extra cream cheese brick and you would be surprise how much smoother the flavour 😀
    as a personal note dont let anyone bug ya about spelling lol just claim your a foreigner

    • June 29, 2009 4:25 pm

      Thank you so much for your professional advice! I will definitely try your suggestions the next time I make this cake, and I hope that they help the cake turn out better. 🙂

  7. janis permalink
    September 24, 2009 11:39 am

    i made this cake and did not like it. it was too dense. i like a lighter cake. i wonder if i beat the egg whites and fold them in at the end, will it be a lighter cake? i did sift my flour about 3 times. also, i have never made a cake without any salt. did anyone find that to be unusual? the filling and icing came out perfect.

  8. Renee Roberts permalink
    October 18, 2009 6:43 am

    My daughter told me about this cake and said she would love it for her birthday. Found the recipe here, picked up ingredients and got to work…and I do mean work, this cake is quite a process!! Used just about every bowl and measuring cup in my kitchen. I love a baking challenge though so it was lots of fun and definitely a labor of love.

    Specifically…I made the filling first. Put the berries in a bowl, added a couple Tbsp’s of sugar (thought it might make them a bit sweeter since raspberries can be tart) and let thaw on counter. Success!! Cooked the entire 8 minutes (actually boiled about 4 of those minutes) and had a nice thick mixture (reminded me of lemon pie filling)…straight to fridge. Next, made frosting. It came out the perfect consistency for me and I had no problems with it being runny (it was a nice cold day here in Tennesse, may have made a difference since “room temp” was about 68). Finally, got to work on the batter. I actually expected a pound cake like result based on the ingredients so I wasnt surprised. The cakes were dense, moist and lovely!

    Final thoughts….This cake is definitely not for the weak at heart! I strongly suggest making all the elements the day before you plan to serve as your kitchen will be tied up for a couple of hours….more if you count clean-up! So worth it though, The end result is a very impressive, “showstopper” of a cake and I have already been asked to make it again!!

  9. Rick permalink
    May 12, 2010 5:40 pm

    Dense? They were about a half inch think and very spongy. Not at all like pictured. I even tried it twice and still no luck.

  10. Lisa permalink
    June 25, 2010 9:18 am

    I just put the finishing touches on this cake…should I refrigerate it until tonight when I will be serving it…or leave it sitting out. Thanks!

  11. janis permalink
    June 26, 2010 1:09 pm

    lisa, i would put this in the refrigeratior and take it out about an hour before serving

  12. Susan permalink
    May 1, 2011 2:51 pm

    I made this cake to surprise my son for his birthday. It is in the refrigerator and it looks like a volcano of icing and raspberry filling oozing down the sides. I am so disappointed. I should have read the comments before even attempting this. Well he is only 13 so he will probably eat it anyway!

  13. Janet permalink
    May 4, 2011 9:45 pm

    I’m going to attempt this for a baby shower except that I plan to make the cake as cupcakes, pipe in a small amount of the raspberry filling into the cupcakes, and frost with icing. Has anyone ever tried to roll the edges of cupcakes in colored sanding sugar using a cream cheese frosting? I know it works with butter cream and melts into a big mess with Dream Whip.

Trackbacks

  1. My Blog’s 2010 Year in Review « Black Coffee & Bourbon
  2. My Blog’s Year in Review « Black Coffee & Bourbon

Leave a comment