Skip to content

Fat Boy Meals with Stephen

January 20, 2012

A couple weeks back I was approched by Stephen from WCTV to have the content of my food blog, Sweet Tea & Bourbon, appear on their website.  I agreed and since then we’ve been going back and forth with ideas for things (Foodie Friday and a possible logo), and also about possibly meeting for lunch.  Today, with the new Five Guys Burgers & Fries opening up on Thomasville Road we decided to grab a bite.

One of the coolest things about social media is connecting with people online and then meeting them in real life.  When I meet people who read this blog it is like meeting an old friend since they know a lot of things about me from reading my post, and I likewise if they also blog.

Stepehen was a really nice guy and we chatted about all sorts of things while eating our fat boy meals.  Turns out he is a local Tallahassee guy who served our country in the U.S. Airforce.  He told me he had been to all the Stans he ever wished to visit while he was deployed as a gunner on a Spectre Gunship. (These things are badass, Google it and watch one of the videos.  You do not want to be a Taliban member with these things over head.)  After that, he headed to FSU and ended up at WCTV.  He also filled me in on a restaurant I should avoid, but after hearing how horrible it was I kind of want to check it out (blogging gold!).  Overall, it was a good lunch and I am glad I got to meet the guy who helped give my blog a lot more visibility!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2012 11:51 am

    Concerning all those “stans” my son visited as a gunship gunner back in 2002. His first deployment was almost exactly one year from the start of Air Force basic training. He was two weeks into basic when 911 happened changing all our lives forever and the course of his military career.

    Because his first deployment was top secret, we had no idea where he was to be stationed. We only knew it was in one of the “stans”. It was through an article about a 3-stop tour comedian, Robin Williams took to visit the troops, that we discovered Stephen was in Uzbekistan. Of the three stops made by Robin Williams, only one was in a “stan” country!

  2. January 24, 2012 12:31 pm

    Thank you for the comment! Your son has quite a story, and you must be very proud of him! What a way to find out where he was stationed.

Leave a comment